Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Thoughts of a lone Tenno
7 novembre 2013

Under the noise of the Gravidus Dilemna, thoughts began to take shape.

03

        

    I sit in the void, for it is there I can see. In the grasp of my eyes, the worlds of the Sun, planets and satellites, slowly moving in their patient ballet. When I sit there, I can see everything, but yet it doesn't answer anything. When I sit in the void, I can't help but wonder: who am I?

            I woke up not so long ago. I fell and a voice spoke to me. She said she was here to help. I don't know her, I don't trust her. Outside, it was cold, and I knew it was the first time I felt the wind for a very, very long time. There were men. They wanted to end me, but my blurry memories managed to grasp what I used to live for: combat.  They were no match. Thanks to the voice of the Lotus, I escaped.

            Away from the snow, away from the air. Up we went, until the stars gazed at us unphased by the cloudy atmosphere we left behind. She said to me those men were called Grnieer, and they had to be fought against. They tried to end me and might do the same to any of my kind. This is enough reason for me to fight. I sneaked in their ships, slaughtered them in their useless attempts to fight back. As my hands kept firm grip on the sword and the gun, I remembered.

 

456

 

            I've been there before. I've fought in conflicts of old, out of reach for my dusty memory. The only thing I can remember is how to wield the sword and the gun, for it is not mastery I gain when I fight: it is memory. Fight is all that I have, the only path I know of.

            So, I followed this Lotus Lady, became her mercenary. I'm not the only one. Others follow her. I can sense their presence when I sit in the void, but only do I see them when I'm sent by the Lotus to kill and destroy. We march together and fight together, but rarely do we speak, as if we've forgotten how. Only with them do I feel hole again. Only where the Lotus sends us, in this war where we're kept away from the stakes.

            All I know is that we, the Tenno, are a prize, a threat or a possible ally to court. The Grineer want to destroy us, the Corpus merchants want to dissect us, and, along the way, came the Infected's twisted bodies who try to swallow us all. But still, the only one I know little to nothing about is the Lotus herself. The only thing I know for certain is that she wants us away from any civilians that might live somewhere in the system: the only places she takes us to are warships, infected asteroids and remote outposts.

            Behind the Grineer war machine and the Corpus robots, there must be cities and fields, factories and space-faring people venturing in the system. But without even mentioning it, the Lotus denies us their company. Why is this? What of the captive we free? Where do they go? Who asked for their liberation? Why were they captive in the first place? So much questions for which my fellow Tenno seem to give little to no care. But the more ignorant we remain, the less questions we can ask. Were we in a position to speak to the Lotus, I would have many of those, three of them being very, very old: "Who are you? What do you want? Why are you here?"

            We serve her, yet we know nothing of her. But, through the little she tells us and the few stands she makes, there are small things, little things we can tell about her.

 

2562944-7353895078-2NOW4

 

            She doesn't want the Corpus nor the Grineer to take advantage on the other in this conflict. She sends us to destroy anything that might let the Grineer develop a too powerful weaponry, and the same goes for prototype robots made by the Corpus. We also seek the source of Infested incursions. But nowhere do we strike decisive targets that may change the tide of the war. We stop one's advance or slow it down, but nowhere do we strike at the root of the problem. Nowhere do we send teams further than remote outposts. Thus, the Lotus does not want anyone to win. She only encourages the continuation of this conflict.

            And, last but not least, and that's what troubles me the most: she doesn't care about us. Otherwise she would already have sent us to reach the fellow Tenno fallen in the greedy grasp of the Corpus. Otherwise, she wouldn't have given us a choice on Mars. She'd have gone to the Corpus and said: "Hand them over, and the Tenno will help you." Then, we would have come and eradicated all Grineer from Mars, in a great cleansing which would have discouraged the Corpus to double-cross us.

            But she said "do what you will", which I can understand as "I don't care" or, more likely "serve them both; make them afraid so they higher the pay."

           

            To always know where to send us, she must have agents and networks, and this doesn't work on a dime, so I suppose she gets a fee out of our payroll, hence her interest in us joininf both sides, forcing them to pay to not see all Tenno joining the ennemy. But why the secrecy? Why turning it into a moral choice between the one who wants to slaughter us if we're not his slaves, and the one who wants to dissect our kind for its own profit? They are no more than two pages of the same book.

            I don't know. But when I sit in the void, I can hear the waves of this war. I equally served both camps for the money, for the Gear I acquire might help me to remember who I am. I don't care who wins or loose. I care only for my memories and the Tenno captive to the corpus and those still sleeping, somewhere, at the mercy of the Grineer who might find them first 

            I am Huitzilopoltchi.

           I am a Tenno. 

           But once the words have been said, who am I?

.

Sans titre
Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Thoughts of a lone Tenno
  • Here are the thoughts of a lone tenno, one among the others. The intent is a little storytelling on a weekly basis in the Warframe universe. Contributions are welcome in the comments, but censorship will meet useless stuff like a Stalker strike.
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Publicité